Formula One Monaco Grand Prix

MONTE CARLO, MONACO - MAY 27: Anthony Davidson of Great Britain and Super Aguri F1 drives during the Monaco Formula One Grand Prix at the Monte Carlo Circuit on May 27, 2007 in Monte Carlo, Monaco. (Photo by Paul Gilham/Getty Images)Every year in May, the winding streets of Monaco are converted into the racetrack for the world-famous Formula One Monaco Grand Prix – one of the most prestigious and challenging motor-racing events in the world. Along with the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, it forms part of the “Triple Crown” in motor racing.

The 2008 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix is scheduled for 22 to 25 May. Clearly marked tourist office maps for the circuit are available. And for those who wish to experience part of the thrill of being in the Grand Prix at other times of the year, exclusive companies in Monte Carlo will let you take a trip around the notorious steep climbs and hairpin corners of the circuit in a Ferrari or a Lamborghini.

Anthony Noghès, with the full official support of the Automobile Club de Monaco, organized the first Monaco Grand Prix in 1929, a race that was won by William Grover-Williams driving a Bugatti.

The Formula One Monaco Grand Prix is now the last of the “street courses” remaining on the Formula One calendar. The high-octane excitement of the race can best be experienced in Monte Carlo, which is home to most of the Circuit de Monaco. During the race, drivers must complete 77 laps of this circuit.

Nelson Piquet, triple Formula One champion, was quoted as saying that taking part in the Monaco Grand Prix was “like trying to cycle round your living room,” but also that “a win here was worth two anywhere else.” In the history of the Monaco Grand Prix, a total of two drivers have crashed and ended up in Monte Carlo’s harbour.

The legendary Ayrton Senna claims the most Monaco Grand Prix wins – he has finished the race first a total of six times.

Formula One Monaco Grand Prix Winners since 1990





Fernando Alonso McLaren-Mercedes


Fernando Alonso Renault


Kimi Räikkönen McLaren-Mercedes


Jarno Trulli Renault


Juan Pablo Montoya Williams-BMW


David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes


Michael Schumacher Ferrari


David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes


Michael Schumacher Ferrari


Mika Häkkinen McLaren-Mercedes


Michael Schumacher Ferrari


Olivier Panis Ligier-Mugen Honda


Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault


Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford


Ayrton Senna McLaren-Ford


Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda


Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda


Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda