ATP Monte Carlo Masters

Monaco, MONACO: Swiss Roger Federer hits a return to his Spanish opponent Rafael Nadal during their Monte Carlo ATP Masters Series tournament tennis final match, 22 April 2007 in Monaco. Nadal won 6-4, 6-4 as he defeated his Swiss rival for the second year in succession for the title. VALERY HACHE/AFP/Getty Images)Previously known as the Monte Carlo Open, the ATP Monte Carlo Masters is one of the most prestigious, international men’s tennis tournaments. It is held annually at Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, near the border of Monte Carlo.

The tournament, played on clay courts, is part of the ATP Masters Series on the Association of Tennis Professionals Tour. It sees 56 of the top-ranked ATP players compete for prize money of €2,082,500, in a best of three sets format.

Singles champion of the Monte Carlo ATP Masters Series tournament for three straight years, top tennis player Rafael Nadal won the tournament in 2005, 2006 and 2007.

The 2008 Monte Carlo Masters will be held at the Monte Carlo Country Club, in the municipality of Roquebrune Cap Martin, from 21 to 27 April.

You can reserve tickets online at the official Monte Carlo Masters web site.

Monte Carlo Masters: Recent Singles Winners

Year Winner Runner-up Score in Final
2007 Rafael Nadal Roger Federer 6-4, 6-4
2006 Rafael Nadal Roger Federer 6-2, 6-7, 6-3, 7-6
2005 Rafael Nadal Guillermo Coria 6-3, 6-1, 0-6, 7-5
2004 Guillermo Coria Rainer Schüttler 6-2, 6-1, 6-3
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero Guillermo Coria 6-2, 6-2
2002 Juan Carlos Ferrero Carlos Moyà 7-5, 6-3, 6-4
2001 Gustavo Kuerten Hicham Arazi 6-3, 6-2, 6-4
2000 Cédric Pioline Dominik Hrbatý 6-4, 7-6, 7-6

Monte Carlo Masters: Recent Doubles Winners

Year Winner Runner-up
2007 Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan Julien Benneteau / Richard Gasquet
2006 Jonas Björkman / Max Mirnyi Fabrice Santoro / Nenad Zimonjić
2005 Leander Paes / Nenad Zimonjić Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2004 Tim Henman / Nenad Zimonjić Gastón Etlis / Martín Rodríguez
2003 Mahesh Bhupathi / Max Mirnyi Michaël Llodra / Fabrice Santoro
2002 Jonas Björkman / Todd Woodbridge Paul Haarhuis / Yevgeny Kafelnikov
2001 Jonas Björkman / Todd Woodbridge Joshua Eagle / Andrew Florent
2000 Wayne Ferreira / Yevgeny Kafelnikov Paul Haarhuis / Sandon Stolle